Fort Jesus, Mombasa

While at the Coast I had the chance to visit, Fort Jesus which is a Portuguese fort located on Mombasa Island. It was built between 1593 and 1596, by order of King Philip I of Portugal, to guard the Old Port of Mombasa, Kenya. It was built in the shape of a man (viewed from the air), and was given the name of Jesus. Last time I was at this historical site was back in 2007 and I was very young then to know the significance of it all but I am glad I had a chance to visit it again.

Here are some of the Images that I took of the site and also from the site.

Leave a Reply

